If you take a break from playing the game, it will soon drop your connection. That's when you get a pop-up asking "Anyone there?".
This system is in place to prevent people from leaving the game on while not playing it, as they could exploit this to stay online forever and never get attacked. Everyone would just leave their game on, and you would never find a village to raid. Boring, huh?